The Regular Cavalry Regiments of the British Indian Army

The early years until 1824

From 1824 to the Mutiny

From the The Mutiny to the Indian Army

The Regiments in 1902

From 1903 to the Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1914

The reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1939

GGBG The Governor-General’s Bodyguard
1st Horse Skinner’s Horse
(1st Duke of York’s Own)
2nd Horse 2nd Royal Lancers
(Gardner’s Horse)
3rd Cavalry 3rd Cavalry
4th Horse Hodson’s Horse
(4th Duke of Cambridge’s Own)
5th Lancers Probyn’s Horse
(King Edward VII’s Own Lancers)
6th Lancers 6th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers
(Watson’s Horse)
7th Light Cavalry 7th Light Cavalry
8th Light Cavalry 8th King George V’s Own Light Cavalry
9th Horse Royal Deccan Horse
(9th Horse)
10th Cavalry The Guides Cavalry
(10th Queen Victoria’s Own Frontier Force)
11th Cavalry Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry
(11th Frontier Force)
12th Cavalry Sam Brown’s Cavalry
(Frontier Force)
13th Lancers 13th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers
14th Horse The Scinde Horse
(14th Prince of Wales’s Own)
15th Lancers 15th Lancers
16th Light Cavalryu 16th Light Cavalry
17th Horse 17th Queen Victoria’s Own Poona Horse
18th Cavalry 18th King Edward VII’s Own Cavalry
19th Lancers 19th King George V’s Own Lancers
20th Lancers 20th Lancers
21st Lancers The Central India Horse
(21st King George V’s Own Horse)

The Second World War and Independence

The Regiments of the Indian Army Armoured Corps since 1950

The Regiments of the Pakistan Army Armoured Corps since 1956