The Regular Cavalry Regiments of the British Indian Army

The early years until 1824

From 1824 to the Mutiny

From the The Mutiny to the Indian Army

The Regiments in 1902

From 1903 to the Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1914

The Reorganisation of 1922

Pre 1903 Indian Army 1919 In 1921 merged into Final title in 1922
GGBG The Governor-General’s Bodyguard The Governor-General’s Bodyguard
1st Bengal 1st Duke of York’s Own Lancers (Skinner’s Horse)} 1st/2nd Horse 1st Duke of York’s Own Skinner’s Horse
3rd Bengal 3rd Skinner’s Horse
2nd Bengal 2nd Lancers (Gardner’s Horse)} 2nd/4th Cavalry 2nd Lancers (Gardner’s Horse)
4th Bengal 4th Cavalry
5th Bengal 5th Cavalry} 5th/8th Cavalry 3rd Cavalry
8th Bengal 8th Cavalry
9th Bengal 9th Hodson’s Horse} 9th/10th Cavalry 4th Duke of Cambridge’s Own Hodson’s Horse
10th Bengal 10th Duke of Cambridge’s Own Lancers (Hodson’s Horse)
11th Bengal 11th King Edward’s Own Lancers (Probyn’s Horse)} 11th/12th Cavalry 5th King Edward’s Own Probyn Horse
12th Bengal 12th Cavalry
13th Bengal 13th Duke of Connaught’s Lancers (Watson’s Horse)} 13th/16th Cavalry 6th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers
16th Bengal 16th Cavalry
3rd Madras 28th Light Cavalry 7th Light Cavalry
1st Madras 26th King George’s Own Light Cavalry} 26th/30th Cavalry 8th King George’s Own Light Cavalry
4th Hyderabad 30th Lancers (Hodson’s Horse)
1st Hyderabad 20th Deccan Horse} 20th/29th Horse 9th Royal Deccan Horse
2nd Hyderabad 29th Lancers (Deccan Horse)
Guides Queen’s Own Corps of Guides (Frontier Force) (Lumsden’s) 10th Queen Victoria’s Own Corps of Guides Cavalry (Frontier Force)
1st Punjab 21st Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry (Frontier Force)} 21st/23rd Cavalry 11th Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry (Frontier Force)
3rd Punjab 23rd Cavalry (Frontier Force)
2nd Punjab 22nd Sam Browne’s Cavalry (Frontier Force)} 22nd/25th Cavalry 12th Cavalry (Frontier Force)
5th Punjab 25th Cavalry (Frontier Force)
1st Bombay 31st Duke of Connaught’s Lancers} 31st/32rd Lancers 13th Duke of Connaught’s Own Bombay Lancers
2nd Bombay 32nd Lancers
5th Bombay 35th Scinde Horse} 35th/36th Cavalry 14th Prince of Wales’s Own Scinde Horse
6th Bombay 36th Jacob’s Horse
17th Bengal 17th Cavalry} 17th/37th Lancers 15th Lancers
7th Bombay 37th Lancers (Baluch Horse)
2nd Madras 27th Light Cavalry 16th Light Cavalry
3rd Bombay 33rd Queen Victoria’s Own Light Cavalry} 33rd/34th Cavalry 17th Queen Victoria’s Own Poona Horse
4th Bombay 34th Prince Albert Victor’s Own Poona Horse
6th Bengal 6th King Edward’s Own Cavalry} 6th/7th Cavalry 18th King Edward’s Own Cavalry
7th Bengal 7th Hariana Lancers
18th Bengal 18th King George’s Own Tiwana Lancers} 18th/19th Lancers 19th King George’s Own Lancers
19th Bengal 19th Lancers (Fane’s Horse)
14th Bengal 14th Murray’s Jat Lancers} 14th/15th Lancers 20th Lancers
15th Bengal 15th Lancers (Cureton’s Multani)
1st Central India 38th King George’s Own Central India Horse} 38th/39th Cavalry 21st King George’s Own Light Cavalry
2nd Central India 39th King George’s Own Central India Horse

The Regiments in 1939

The Second World War and Independence

The Regiments of the Indian Army Armoured Corps since 1950

The Regiments of the Pakistan Army Armoured Corps since 1956