The Regular Cavalry Regiments of the British Indian Army

The early years until 1824

From 1824 to the Mutiny

From the The Mutiny to the Indian Army

The Regiments in 1902

From 1903 to the Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1914

GGBG The Governor-General’s Bodyguard
cav01 1st Duke of York’s Own Lancers
(Skinner’s Horse)
2nd Lancers 2nd Lancers
(Gardner’s Horse)
3rd Horse 3rd Skinner’s Horse
4th Cavalry 4th Cavalry
5th Cavalry 5th Cavalry
cav06 6th King Edward’s Own Cavalry
cav07 7th Hariana Lancers
cav08 8th Cavalry
cav09 9th Hodson’s Horse
cav10 10th Duke of Cambridge’s Own Lancers
(Hodson’s Horse)
cav11 11th King Edwards’s Own Lancers
(Probyn’s Horse)
cav12 12th Cavalry
cav13 13th Duke of Connaught’s Lancers
(Watson’s Horse)
cav14 14th Murray’s Jat Lancers
cav15 15th Lancers
(Cureton’s Multani)
cav16 16th Cavalry
cav17 17th Cavalry
cav18 18th King George’s Own Tiwana Lancers
cav19 19th Lancers
(Fane’s Horse)
cav20 20th Deccan Horse
Guides Queens Victoria’s Own Corps of Guides
(Frontier Force) (Lumsden’s)
cav21 21st Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry
(Frontier Force)
22nd Sam Browne’s Cavalry 22nd Sam Browne’s Cavalry
(Frontier Force)
23rd Cavalry 23rd Cavalry
(Frontier Force)
25th Cavalry 25th Cavalry
(Frontier Force)
cav26 26th King George’s Own Light Cavalry
cav27 27th Light Cavalry
cav28 28th Light Cavalry
cav29 29th Lancers
(Deccan Horse)
cav30 30th Lancers
(Gordon’s Horse)
cav31 31st Duke of Connaught’s Lancers
cav32 32nd Lancers
cav33 33rd Queen Victoria’s Own Light Cavalry
cav34 34th Prince Albert Victor’s Own Poona Horse
35th Scinde Horse
36th Jacob’s Horse 36th Jacob’s Horse
37th Lancers
(Baluch Horse)
38th King George’s Own Central India Horse 38th King George’s Own Central India Horse
39th King George’s Own Central India Horse 39th King George’s Own Central India Horse

The reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1939

The Second World War and Independence

The Regiments of the Indian Army Armoured Corps since 1950

The Regiments of the Pakistan Army Armoured Corps since 1956