The Regular Cavalry Regiments of the British Indian Army

The early years until 1824

From 1824 to the Mutiny

From the The Mutiny to the Indian Army

The Regiments in 1902

These are the last titles before the creation of one list for the whole Indian Army in 1903.

- Bengal -
- Punjab -
- Madras -
- Hyderabad -
- Bombay -
- Central India -

- Bengal -
The Governor-General’s Bodyguard
1st (Duke of York’s Own) Bengal Lancers (Skiner’s Horse)
2nd Bengal Lancers
3rd Bengal Cavary (Skinner’s Horse)
4th Bengal Lancers
5th Bengal Cavalry
6th (Prince of Wales’s) Bengal Cavalry
7th Bengal Lancers
8th Bengal Lancers
9th Bengal Lancers (Hodson’s Horse)
10th (Duke of Cambridge’s Own) Bengal Lancers (Hodson’s Horse)
11th (Prince ofWales’s Own) Bengal Lancers
12th Bengal Cavalry
13th (Duke of Connaught’s) Bengal Lancers
14th Bengal Lancers (Murray’s Jat Horse)
15th (Curleton’s Multani) Bengal Lancers
16th Bengal Lancers
17th Bengal Lancers
18th Bengal Lancers
19th Bengal Lancers (Fane’s Horse)

- Punjab -
Queen’s Own Corps of Guides
1st (Prince Albert Victor’s Own) Punjab Cavalry
2nd Punjab Cavalry
3rd Punjab Cavalry
5th Punjab Cavalry

- Madras -
1st Madras Lancers
2nd Madras Lancers
3rd Madras Lancers

- Hyderabad -
1st Lancers, Hyderabad Contingent
2nd Lancers, Hyderabad Contingent
4th Lancers, Hyderabad Contingent

- Bombay -
1st Duke of Connaught’s Own Bombay Lancers
2nd Bombay Lancers
3rd (Queen’s Own) Bombay Light Cavalry
4th (Prince Albert Victor’s Own) Bombay Cavalry (Poona Horse)
5th Bombay Cavalry (Scinde Horse)
6th Bombay Cavalry (Jacob’s Horse)
7th Bombay Lancers (Baluch Horse)

- Central India -
1st Central India Horse
2nd Central India Horse

From 1903 to the Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1914

The Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1939

The Second World War and Independence

The Regiments of the Indian Army Armoured Corps since 1950

The Regiments of the Pakistan Army Armoured Corps since 1956