The Regular Armoured Corps Regiments of the British Indian Army

The early years until 1824

From 1824 to the Mutiny

From the The Mutiny to the Indian Army

The Regiments in 1902

From 1903 to the Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1914

The Reorganisation of 1922

The Regiments in 1939

The Second World War and Independence


In 1941 the Indian Armoured Corps was raised consisting off all, in the meantime mechanized, cavalry regiments.

On partition in 1947 six regiments were allocated to Pakistan and twelve to India.

Titles in 1922 Titles in 1947 Titles in 2010
The Governor-General’s Bodyguard The Governor-General’s Bodyguard{ to India:The President’s Bodyguard
to Pakistan:The President’s Bodyguard
1st Duke of York’s Own Skinner’s Horse Skinner’s Horse to India:1st Horse
2nd Lancers 2nd Royal Lancers to India:2nd Lancers
3rd Cavalry 3rd Cavalry to India:3rd Cavalry
4th Duke of Cambridge’s Own Hodson’s Horse Hodson’s Horse to India:4th Horse
5th King Edward’s Own Horse Probyn’s Horse to Pakistan:5th Horse
6th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers 6th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers to Pakistan:6th Lancers
7th Light Cavalry 7th Light Cavalry to India:7th Light Cavalry
8th King George’s Own Light Cavalry 8th King George V’s Own Light Cavalry to India:8th Light Cavalry
9th Royal Deccan Horse The Royal Deccan Horse to India:The Deccan Horse
10th Queen Victoria’s Own Corps of Guides Cavalry The Guides Cavalry to Pakistan:The Guides Cavalry (Frontier Force)
11th Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry Prince Albert Victor’s Own Cavalry to Pakistan:11th Cavalry (Frontier Force)
12th Cavalry ¹) in Pakistan:12th Cavalry (Frontier Force)
13th Duke of Connaught’s Own Bombay Lancers 13th Duke of Connaught’s Own Lancers to Pakistan:13th Lancers
14th Prince of Wales’s Own Scinde Horse The Scinde Horse to India:14th Horse
15th Lancers ¹) in Pakistan:15th Lancers (Baloch)
16th Light Cavalry 16th Light Cavalry to India:16th Light Cavalry
17th Queen Victoria’s Own Poona Horse The Poona Horse to India:17th Horse
18th King Edward’s Own Cavalry 18th King Edward VII’s Own Cavalry to India:18th Cavalry
19th King George’s Own Lancers 19th King George V’s Own Lancers to Pakistan:19th Lancers
20th Lancers ¹) in India:
in Pakistan:
20th Lancers
20th Lancers (Haidri) (Punjab)
21st King George’s Own Central India Horse The Central India Horse to India:The Central India Horse
1941: 42nd Cavalry 1943: disbanded
1941: 43rd Cavalry 1946: disbanded
1941: 44th Cavalry 1943: disbanded
1941: 45th Cavalry 1946: disbanded
1941: 46th Cavalry 1942: disbanded
1941: 47th Cavalry 1943: disbanded
1941: 48th Cavalry 1947: disbanded
¹) 1937: training regiments, 1940: Regimental Centers of the Indian Armoured Corps, later disbanded

The Regiments of the Indian Army Armoured Corps since 1950

The Regiments of the Pakistan Army Armoured Corps since 1956